Legion recognizes members with awards and honours

Stan Orlesky, the current President of Royal Canadian Legion Branch #66 of Ponoka, was bestowed with “Lifetime Membership”

Stan Orlesky

Stan Orlesky, the current President of Royal Canadian Legion Branch #66 of Ponoka, was bestowed with “Lifetime Membership”, the second highest award of recognition of the Legion during the 2013 Honours and Awards Banquet which took place at the Legion premises on Saturday, Oct. 23.

Awarding the honor, past president Hugh Greene praised Orlesky for decades of community service from coaching minor hockey and softball to supporting various institutions and said he was receiving a well-deserved honour from the Legion.

Lifetime Membership is the second highest award after the Meritorious Service Medal to be given to Legion members.

Ron Airey receiving a standing applause from the participants when received his 55-year membership pin.

Attendees included Wetaskiwin MP Blaine Calkins and outgoing Mayor Larry Henkelman in his last official function, in addition to many Legion members and their families.

Other recipients of awards and honours included Eric Davis (35 years), James Dunham (40 years), Vern Erickson (40 years), D.A McLeod (45 years), J.R Anderson (50 years), Marie Thompson (25 years associate member), Terry Hamre (30 years associate member), Emily Lank (30 years associate member), Ron Witvoet (30 years associate member), Katie Moebes (30 years associate member), James Tiltgen (30 years associate member), Terry Akins (35 years associate member), Doug Hosler (35 years associate member), Mildred Ziegler (35 years associate member),Ron Hicks(35 years associate member), Joe Kleckner (35 years associate member),. Barry Adams (35 years associate member), Vern Hemeyer (40 years associate member), Carol Hemeyer (40 years associate member) and Larry Volk (40 years associate member).

Life member pins were awarded to Tom Hycha, Lydia Prediger and Wilf Hemeyer.

George Baxcey, Dennis Ensminger, Shirley Gill, Jason Pugh, Barry Woyen, Linda Wiebe, Doug Gill, Garth Olson, Devona Slater and Bev Woyen received Certificate of Appreciation. Wilf Hemeyer also received a 50-year medal while George Cheyney, Diane Cheyney, Ralph Kreil, Bob Smith, Glenda Orlesky and Gladys Davenport received Branch Service medals.

In ladies Auxiliary Honors and Awards, Marlene Gartner received a 30-year pin, Ann Bidyk 35-year pin, Isabel Odgaard 40-year pin and Harriot Monk 55-year pin.

Verna Raycraft received a 1st Vice President’s Bar and 2nd Vice President’s Bar and Dorothy Houghton received a 2nd Vice-President’s Bar and a Sports Bar.

Auxiliary Branch Service medals went to Marlene Ferguson, Dorothy Houghton, Verna Raycraft and Wendy Peavoy.

Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to Diane Cheyney, Rema Marney and Deb Witvoet.