Sam Evans was selected for special recognition in the junior category. Robin Grant/Ponoka News

29 students recognized at Leaders of Tomorrow Awards

Students from Kindergarten to Grade 12 earn leadership awards

Some of Ponoka’s future young leaders were recognized at the 23rd annual Leaders of Tomorrow Awards on April 7.

The youth recognition program, held at Ponoka Elementary School, publicly acknowledges the amazing contributions of young people in the community.

A total of 29 students received recognition for their leadership in the community or at school as well as for volunteering.

Principal of Ponoka Elementary School Tim Bowman praised them for their efforts.

“The young people being recognized today are able to take on the day-to-day busyness and step up and step out to make their school and community better,” he said.

Every student in the elementary, junior and senior categories who is nominated receives an award, but four students each year are recognized for going above and beyond the rest.

This year, Yaël Witvoet and Sydney Sinclair earned the award in the senior category, while Sam Evans and Hayley Wiancko were selected in the junior category.

Witvoet thanked her teacher who nominated her and congratulated her best friend, Sinclair, who also earned the award.

“It feels so surreal to be recognized for what I have done for this community and see how far I’ve come as a leader.”

Witvoet said her plans for the future include attending university and, “Hopefully, make Canada better instead of just my community.”

For Evans, the recognition was unexpected.

“It definitely was a great feeling to win and it feels good to be recognized for the stuff that I do in the community,” he said. “But you don’t do it to get recognized, you do it feel good and do all those things.”

2019 Leaders of Tomorrow Nominees

Elementary Category:

Parker Adcock

Shea Harrison

Tyce Ridder

Brandt Cabay

Mackenzie McKnight

Caleb Schumacher

Brooklyn Ell

Annika Paltao

Isabella Scott

Rylan Flaws

Keyana Rawji

Ethan Smith

Curtez Giroux

Junior Category:

Tori Christiansen

Damien Normandeau

Sam Evans

Sophia Oppel

David Kawahara

Addison Saunders

Matthew Kawahara

Morgan Thomas

Sierra LeBouthillier

Hayley Wiancko

Senior Category:

Kateryna Anderson

Sydney Sinclair

Tyson Cunnington

Abigail Winslow

Nadia Simons

Yaël Witvoet


Tyce Ridder, right, who was nominated in the junior category holds up his Leaders of Tomorrow award on Sunday with his brother and father. Robin Grant/Ponoka News

Annika Paltao, who was nominated in the junior category, holds up her Leaders of Tomorrow award on Sunday. Robin Grant/Ponoka News

Just Posted

PHOTOS: Staycation Stampede Style

Ponoka FCSS hosted its annual Stampede staycation event on June 18

Contact Maskwacis RCMP about missing Antoine Mackinaw

Maskwacis RCMP seeking public assistance in locating male

AMBER ALERT: Alert cancelled after child located safe and unharmed

Alert cancelled after child located safe and unharmed

VIDEO: ‘Avengers: Endgame’ to be re-released with new footage

‘Avatar’ holds global box office record at $2.788 billion, while ‘Endgame’ stands at $2.743 billion…

More than 700 wildlfire evacuees in Alberta can soon return to Metis community

Evacuees from the Paddle Prairie Metis Settlement can safely return starting on Thursday

B.C. files second legal challenge against Alberta over turn-off-taps law

B.C. government filed a second lawsuit against Alberta on June 14

Tax credits, penalizing big polluters, key to Conservative climate plan

Canada’s commitment is to cut emissions to 70 per cent of what they were in 2005 before 2030

VIDEO: Acknowledging skeptics, finance minister vows to build Trans Mountain project

Bill Morneau said he recognizes ‘huge amount of anxiety’ in Calgary over future of oil and gas sector

Shovels could be in the ground on Trans Mountain by September, CEO says

Ian Anderson points to weeks likely required for NEB to reinstate 2016 regulatory record

Calgary man facing charges after B.C. police service dog aids in arrest

Heavy police presence results in PSD Jagger finding suspect

RCMP allows officers to grow beards

Members can now wear beards and goatees, as long as they’re neatly groomed

Wildfires have forced more than 9,000 people from homes in northern Alberta

People in other communities remain on evacuation alert and could be told to leave quickly

Most Read