PSC Grade 10 Principals List awards - Aiden Halbert, Lukas Kowalski. Photo by Deanna French

PSC dishes out annual academic awards

Junior and senior high student recognized for their classroom accomplishments

Ponoka Secondary Campus held it’s academic awards ceremony for the 2018-19 school year, presenting students from Grades 7 to 12 with certificates honouring their achievements as well as gifts and cash awards.

Below is a list of the award recipients:


Grade 7 – Jace Carleton, Emily Cline, Sara Delure, Megan DeLong, Jonathon Dwyer, Zach Engen, Dacian Heinz, Payton Loewen, Kennedy McArthur, Izzabella Paquette, Jackson Saunders Cierra Williamson;

Grade 8 – Marye Bakker, Jaiden Bandet, Bryson Buffalo, Marissa Cunnington, Alvin Day, Karlee Feragen, Kendra Feragen, Ben Hinton, Jordyn Marcoux, Emily McMillan, LJ Nieviadomy, Jens Ostergaard, Jake Palechek, Brayden Sands, Nathan Sluggett;

Grade 9 – Sarah Aitkin, Jeanne Dick, Levi Harbin, Kendra Hutniak, Devon Loewen, Reese MacPherson, Mallory McNalley, Jeremiah Murray, Addison Saunders, Jaxson Stiles, Kael Street;

Grade 10 – Gavin Allen-Prefontaine, Kydan Busat, Halle Carlson, Samuel Day, Mikayla Hoffman, Wyatt Hosler, Katie Kroening, Anna MacLaren, Logan MacLeod, Aiden McTaggart, Colby Padgham, Colby Podritske, Jessi Sweet, McKenna Thomson;

Grade 11 – Mariah Chisholm, Emily David, Koen Huijssoon, Jesse Newell, Anna Ostergaard, Sydney Pritchard, Jocelyn Wynnychuk;

Grade 12 – Morgan Blannchard, Mikhel Bruneau, Jared Bussiere, Jonathan DeLeavey, Brayden Dickau, Travis Hyink, Jamie Kim, Madison McLaren, Tori McNalley, Emily Parker, Emma-Lee Rust, Nadia Simons.

Principal’s list

Grade 7 – Donovan Halbert, Ella Johnson, Lena Kowalski, Spencer Loree, Loren Neilsen, Elise Resler, Ava Sorensen;

Grade 8 – Taelor Gillis, Quaid McKinney, Ryland Mendoza, Keiya Sinclair;

Grade 9 – Josh David, Kate Hollingsworth, Lily Scott;

Grade 10 – Adien Halbert, Lukas Kowalski;

Grade 11 – Maia Hooger, Kristen Hyink;

Grade 12 – Randy Goldspink, Tyler Hosler, Keelan Sands


Perfect attendance: Jr. high – Donovan Halbert, Spencer Loree; Sr. high – Aiden Halbert, Wyatt Hosler, Nicholas Mercer.

Career and Technology: Automotive service tech 1 – Daneil Aitken, 2 – Braedan Toporowski, 3 – Kaiden Kinnaird; Construction tech 1 – Aiden McTaggart, 2 – Tade Tonneson, 3 – Kelsey Stretch; Fabrication 1 – Colby Padgham, 2 – Cameron Catterall, 3 – Tristan Young; Food Studies 1 – Eternity Stimson, 2 – Mariah Chisholm and Madison Hansen, 3 – Owen Feragen.

Merit Contractors Assn. scholarship – Ethan Soosay.

Outstanding Design Studies – Kirsten Krzywy.

Drama – Gr. 10: Jenna Louis, Gr. 11: Kristin Hyink, Gr. 12: Randy Goldspink.

Art – Gr. 10: Kylie Goodwin, Gr. 11: Persja Potts, Gr. 12: Quinelle Wolfe.

St. Mary’s Anglican Church award and WCPS CTS board scholarship – Shane Washkevich.

Bower Dental Centre Outstanding Jr. High award – Elise Resler.

Joan and Dunc Grant scholarship and the Dr. Mac and Olive Elofson Nursing award – Morgan Blanchard.

Royal Purple award and Ponoka Hospital and Care Centre Auxiliary Community Volunteer award – Nadia Simons.

Ponoka Lions award – Colby Padgham, Aiden McTaggart.

Awards of Excellence – Gr. 10: Kylie Goodwin, Gr. 11: Emily David.

Louise Mah scholarship – Koen Huijssoon.

Scott School Community scholarship – Alliah Wildcat..

Seafield Community award – Madison Stiles, Tori McNalley.

Wolf Creek ATA local teachers award – Mikhel Bruneau.

Legacy Ford scholarship (in memory of Ernie Plested) – Kash Bonnett.

Don Hoar Agricultural scholarship – Travis Hyink.

In-Reach award – Mikayla Hoffman.

Royal Canadian Legion English 30-2 award and Loyal Order of Moose award – Paisley Wilson.

Jean Martin award in Math and Athletics – Jared Bussiere.

Chamber of Commerce award – Jamie Kim.

Dr. Mac and Olive Elofson Chemistry 30 award – Jamie Kim, Tyler Hosler.

Calumet Synergy Assn. award – Tyler Hosler.

Kinsmen English 30-1 award – Randy Goldspink, Tyler Hosler.

W.J. Hoar Memorial award, the Rowland, Parker and Associates Math 30-1 award and Governor General’s award – Randy Goldspink.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here


PSC Grade 11 Honours and Principals List - Maia Hoogers, Kristen Hyink, Sydney Pritchard, Emily David, Mariah Chisholm, Jesse Newell, Koen Huijssoon, Jocelyn Wynnychuk. Missing - Anna Ostergaard. Photo by Deanna French

Tade Tonneson accepts the Construction Technology 2 award from Gary Colyn from Sommers Home Hardware. Photo by Deanna French

Alliah Wildcat accepts the Scott Schoo Community scholarship award, presented to the Grade 10 or 11 student that has shown significant improvement in effort and attitude, from Linda Cunnington. Photo by Deanna French

Just Posted

Return to class has gone better than expectation, WCPS says

Staff with Wolf Creek Public Schools say the return to in-class teaching has gone very well

Drive-in movie draws full parking lot

Town hosted showing of Onward Sept. 25

St. Augustine School grads cross the stage at long last

‘Drive-thru’ grad held for St. Augustine School class of 2020

Mayor gives update on Water Commission

BIA letter to council and other briefs from Sept. 21 meeting

No safe mask option for bearded members, RCMP says, but force is exploring solutions

RCMP says respirator not mandatory in all front-line situations, but sometimes needed to reduce risk

Best of Ponoka Readers’ Choice Awards 2020

Here is your chance to show your support for the outstanding services… Continue reading

Survey finds doctors worry supplies of flu vaccine, PPE will lag demand

Canadian health officials have said additional flu vaccines have been ordered to meet expected demand

Ahead of likely second wave, 60% of Canadians relaxing COVID-19 measures

Proportion of Canadians following safety measures has dropped by 3 per cent in the past two weeks

Ponoka has a new seed library

Calling all gardeners: Ponoka Jubilee Library has started a community seed library… Continue reading

Canada’s population tops 38 million, even as COVID-19 pandemic slows growth

Immigration, the top population driver, decreased due to the pandemic

Lightning strike: Tampa Bay blanks Dallas 2-0 to win Stanley Cup

Hedman wins Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP

Liberals seek to fast track new COVID-19 aid bill after CERB expires

Government secured NDP support for legislation by hiking amount of benefits by $100 to $500 per week

‘Worst of the worse cases:’ Alberta horse owners on alert for outbreak of fever

An outbreak of the Potomac horse fever has been declared in Alberta

Most Read