STAR Catholic board getting ahead of the curve

One local school board is trying to get ahead of Alberta Education for once.

One local school board is trying to get ahead of Alberta Education for once.

The St. Thomas Aquinas Roman Catholic School Board (STAR) held one of six town hall meetings in the communities it serves at St. Augustine Catholic School on Oct. 13 as part of its ward boundary review process.

STAR was originally created in 1994 by combining a couple of Catholic school divisions as a result of the provincial government at the time cutting the number of school divisions by nearly two-thirds to just 61. STAR then grew with the inclusion a few years later of schools in Drayton Valley and Wetaskiwin.

“The expectation of this review is to begin ahead of the curve and be proactive,” STAR board chair Thalia Hibbs told those at the meeting.

“We haven’t discussed anything at the board level in detail and believe that all of the discussion and thoughts from the public will be beneficial.”

Brian Callaghan, a consultant from the Alberta School Boards Association, which represents school boards in the province, was hired to conduct the review and present any findings to the STAR board of trustees. His report is due by the end of January in order for any changes to be sent to Alberta Education for approval so it can be implemented for the October 2017 election.

About 20 people were in attendance, though none raised any questions about what the outcome of the review should be. For the most part, they listened to Callaghan’s presentation that also included a number of statistics and three options: keeping the status quo regarding the wards with nine trustees, redistributing the number of electors each trustee represents or reducing the number of trustees.

At present, each trustee represents an average of 2,800 Catholic electors based upon a percentage of the slightly more than 100,000 electors that actually live in the wards covered by STAR. Currently, there are two trustees for Leduc, Drayton Valley and Wetaskiwin with one trustee for each of Beaumont, Lacombe and Ponoka.

The dilemma though, as explained by Callaghan, is since the four wards (with Lacombe and Beaumont being sub-wards within the Ponoka and Leduc areas) have no boundaries that touch and that makes it difficult to redistribute and keep people engaged in the process.


Just Posted

Wolf Creek Schools raises Treaty 6 flag for first time

Chiefs, school officials took part in a ceremony that is aimed at acknowledging Treaty 6 land

Pair arrested in Ponoka with several weapons, face 98 charges

Two men nabbed after early morning suspicious vehicle reported, stolen weapons found

UPDATE: 18-year-old Rimbey teen dies in collision

A portion of Highway 53 west of Rimbey is down to one lane while crews investigate

Ponoka County approves $70,000 to dredge Parkland Beach

Parkland Beach to see some dredging support from Ponoka County

Ponoka sets bylaw on cannabis retail, pushes for quick public consumption regulation

Town passes first reading on retail outlet bylaw, questions staff on need to separate public usage

U.S. congressman issues dire warning to Canada’s NAFTA team: time is running out

Canadian Foreign Affairs Minister Chrystia Freeland is expected to resume talks with the U.S.

Ottawa to name new ambassador for women, peace and security, Freeland says

Chrystia Freeland also confirmed Canada would spend about $25 million to fund number of initiatives

‘A little bright spot:’ Ottawa residents rescue dog trapped beneath rubble

Freelance journalist says rescue of a dog trapped under rubble was happy ending amid chaos in Ottawa

VIDEO: Inside an eerily empty mall in Canada

Only nine of 517 retail spaces are open for business as the grand opening postponed to next year

Tens of thousands without power following tornado in Ottawa region

Hydro Ottawa says more than 170,000 customers were without power early this morning

BALONEY METER: Do Liberal policies mean a typical family is $2,000 richer?

MPs took to Twitter to talk how ‘typical’ Canadian families have more money due to Liberal policies

Tornado touches down in Ottawa and Gatineau, Que.

Environment Canada says cars and homes have been damaged by severe thunderstorms and high wind gusts

Tilray Inc sees $10-billion in market cap go up in smoke

Tilray’s share price closed at $123 US on Friday, a decline from its intraday peak of nearly $300 US earlier in the week

Most Read