Skip to content

Wolf Creek Public Schools makes board and committee appointments

Luci Henry selected as board chair for second year
Kelly Lowry. (Photo submitted)

Wolf Creek Public Schools’ (WCPS) board of trustees has selected Luci Henry as its board chair for a second year. The selection was made at the Board’s organizational meeting on June 23, 2022.

Henry is serving her second term as trustee. She was previously selected for board chair following the 2021 municipal elections.

“I continue to be humbled by the support my fellow trustees have shown for me,” said Henry in a release.

Henry said it’s important time for the board, as it enters the second year of its four-year education plan, with a focus on quality teaching, collective responsibility and supporting all students.

“We also are determined as a board to continue our many areas of advocacy, including for mental health support for students and for our divisional capital priorities,” she said.

One of the largest current capital projects is the replacement school for Iron Ridge Elementary Campus in Blackfalds.

Henry lives in Clive and serves in Ward A of the division.

Lacombe trustee Kelly Lowry was selected as WCPS’s vice chair. Lowry is serving her second consecutive term as trustee.

She has served on the board previously, being elected to WCPS’ board in 1999 and served three terms on the board at that time.

The board also selected members for its various committees, including: ATA Negotiations, Audit, Grievance, Liaison, Student Review, Advocacy, Salary and Wage Review, Health in Action and Board representation on ASBA Zone 4, PSBAA, TEBA and the Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards.