Skip to content

2023 Neyaskweyahk Native Classic champions

11th annual event held in Maskwacis July 21 to 23

The 11th annual Neyaskweyahk Native Classic was held at the Panee Memorial Agriplex in Maskwacis from July 21 to 23.

The three days was packed with rodeo action, including performances from the Flying Cross Jockey Club, chuckwagon races, Indian relay, flat races and more, plus the final championship.

The 2023 rodeo champions are:

- Stran Roth, bareback champion, 116 point average on two head;

- Lane Wolfe and Ty Yellowbird, the only team to catch over the two days: 7.33 points;

- Layla Chausse, 110 points over two days;

- Chalen Johnson, Ladies break away champion, 6.76 points;

- Tristan Bull, 34.4 over two days;

- Rylee Harbin, junior barrels champion, winning by .3 of a second, 35.1 over two days;

- Pepper Hull, peewee champion: 36.8 points;

- Sam Roasting, saddle bronc champion, 56 point average over the two days;

- Kelan Toronchuk, novice horse champion: 132 points;

- Rylan Ditchuk, junior steers champion: 123 points;

- Elaina Simon: 194 points over two days, and

- Jake Maher, bull riding champion.

Black Press Media Staff

About the Author: Black Press Media Staff

Read more