Broncs footballers recognized for season’s efforts

“Feschuk is always positive and passionate about football…He brings that attitude that coaches need.” Senior Broncs coach Scott MacGregor

With just two years under their belts, the Broncs 12-man football team is planting the seeds for the future.

During the team’s awards banquet April 14, senior Broncs head coach Scott MacGregor announced the recruitment of Greg Esteves as the junior Broncs coach. Macgregor said Estevez brought with him years of experience with the Lacombe Rams football program.

“We kind of stole him from Lacombe, which is a good thing,” joked MacGregor.

On a serious note, MacGregor said he was excited for what Estevez can bring to the junior team. Adding to the junior Broncs roster of coaches will be assistant coach Tanner McLaren and graduating player and senior Broncs quarterback Ruger Dye.

The junior team is providing a much-needed feeding program to the senior Broncs and the young players will be able to bring their experience forward as they get older.

“I’m excited about the number and quality of players returning,” said MacGregor.

The Broncs were also recipients of the League Sportsmanship Award and Bob Morris, representing the Canadian Football Officials Association spoke about the team’s conduct on the field and why they were nominated by referees.

Despite losing all their games last season, Morris feels the Broncs always came with a positive attitude and referees knew the team played with spirit. “Ponoka’s always done a great job of exhibiting sportsmanship.”

One new award this year was presented by MacGregor. The Fez Award is named after special teams coach Darryl Feschuk.

“Feschuk is always positive and passionate about football…He brings that attitude that coaches need,” said MacGregor.

Feschuk will nominate the player most deserving in future years.

The banquet was also a time to recognize players for their dedication:

Lineman of the Year, Ashton Soosay

• Special Teams Player of the Year, Jared Davis

• Offensive Player of the Year, Leland Avril

• Defensive Player of the Year, Dallon Perry

• Rookie of the Year, Jeremy Key

• Fez Award, Carsen Louis

• Goody of the Year, Ruger Dye and Jacobi Buffalo shared the award

For the last two and a half years Buffalo and Dye have worked closely together and MacGregor said coaches could not decide on one player for the Goody Award. “They (Ruger and Buffalo) put in some tough minutes. They were tackled several hundred times.”

Dye said he was proud that he and Jacobi received the award. “We rallied together a lot.”

“I was his centre…We had to get to know each other pretty good,” added Buffalo.

Buffalo wants to play with the juniors in Edmonton as he will be studying at the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology.

One player, Cody Crier, will be playing with the Central Alberta Buccaneers next year. He starts in the next few weeks to gain experience and he hopes to play for the University of Calgary Dinos next year.

MacGregor said more than 25 experienced players will be returning next season to the senior team.